Washington Center

Academic Advisory Committee

The AAC advises the Executive Director on aspects of academic policy, including curriculum, course credit, internships, and faculty selection, and serve as advocates on campus for the systemwide academic program.

Members of the committee are appointed by the campus Executive Vice Chancellors or the University Provost for Academic Affairs. Membership includes one faculty representative from each of the undergraduate campuses, faculty-at-large representatives, and an Academic Affairs representative from the UC Office of the President.

AAC Memebers

UC Office of the President and UCDC Representatives

Douglas Haynes - Vice Provost for Academic Personnel and Programs, UCOP

Tanya Golash-Boza - Executive Director, UCDC

Campus Representatives

UC Los Angeles: Juliet A. Williams (Chair) - Professor of Gender Studies; Chair of Social Science Interdepartmental Program 

UC Irvine: Matthew N. Beckmann - Associate Professor of Political Science 

UC Riverside: John W. Cioffi - Associate Professor of Political Science

UC Berkeley: Jennifer Johnson-Hanks - Executive Dean of the College of Letters & Science

UC San Diego: Seth J. Hill - Professor of Political Science

UC Merced: Robin M. DeLugan - Associate Professor of Anthropology

UC Davis: Milmon F. Harrison - Associate Professor, Department of African American and African Studies

UC Santa Cruz: Daniel Wirls - Professor of Political Science

UC Santa Barabara: Xiaojian Zhao - Associate Dean of Undergraduate Education; Professor of Asian.American Studies


Morris Maduro - Chair of the Department of Biology; Professor of Biology, UC Riverside

Melanie Springer - Associate Professor of Political Science, UC Santa Cruz

David Lee Cuthbert - Professor of Theater Arts, UC Santa Cruz